top of page

Ettlingen Town Hall

Sightseeing Ettlingen Town Hall | guidable

After the town fire of 1689, the town hall was built in 1738 in the Baroque style. As was usual for the time, the design focus of the five-axis, symmetrically laid out building, which is crowned by a curved volute gable, is on the central axis decorated with figures. Johann Valentin Götz created the ensemble of figures, which begins above the town hall entrance with the town's coat of arms. The coat of arms of the margraviate is located on the balcony one floor above. In an 18th century depiction, St. George watches over law and justice. Above all, Justitia stands as a symbol of justice, which should be administered regardless of the person. The town hall was extended to the west in 1892 by master builder Alexander Kiefer in keeping with the style and in 1963 two floors of the western gable side were fitted with colorful motif stained glass windows. They refer to two important stages in the history of Ettlingen: On the first floor, the mayor accepts the charter with the city rights from the hands of Hohenstaufen Emperor Henry VI in 1192 - a scene that is not historically documented in this way. The deed has not survived and the legal transaction can only be deduced indirectly. The window on the upper floor depicts a scene after the town fire of 1689. Margravine Augusta Sibylla receives a plan from master builder Michael Rohrer for the reconstruction of the destroyed St. Martin's Church as a Baroque hall church with a gallery.

bottom of page